Evaluation Procedure


Error message

User warning: The following module is missing from the file system: content_slider. In order to fix this, put the module back in its original location. For more information, see the documentation page. in _drupal_trigger_error_with_delayed_logging() (line 1128 of /var/www/html/kia/includes/bootstrap.inc).

All completed candidatures submitted to the KIA go through the following evaluation process:


  1. Applications  are directed to the Secretariat for  registration.
  2. Applications sent after the deadline  are kept for the next KIA Session.
    Incomplete applications, including requested documents, are eliminated.
  3. Applications  are distributed according to their fields of participation, to the Scientific Committees.
  4. Scientific Committees review every application. Candidates maybe contacted for further information.
  5. Scientific Committees submit their recommendations and the names of the finalists  to the Grand Jury for final evaluation.
  6. The Grand Jury meets in person to discuss the applications and select the KIA Laureates per Scientific Committees.
  7. The final decision is unanimous


  • During the second  week  of  January* , the Secretariat contacts the KIA Laureates by phone and  by  E-mail to make the necessary arrangements for the KIA Laureates to attend the award ceremony. See Laureates Section


  • The names of  the  KIA Laureates  will be announced during the  Award Ceremony  taking place in Tehran, during the first  week  of  February, of each year *,
    In February *, the list of the KIA Laureates is compiled for publication and  announced in the Khwarizmi International Award website.
  • Candidates are kindly invited to check the site on that time of the year.* 


The Chairman
The Chairman of the KIA is appointed by the Minister of Science, Research and Technology.
The  Grand Jury
The Grand Jury for the Khwarizmi International Award consists of eminent scientists appointed by the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology.

The Grand  Jury members are appointed for a period of two years and can be reappointed.
The Grand  Jury members are not necessarily scientifically affiliated to the Iranian Research  Organization for Science and Technology (IROST).
The decision of the Grand Jury  shall be final and non-appealable and no correspondence will be entered into.

* ( Dates submitted here, are to be reviewed each year, please refer to the Key Dates Section)